February 14, 2015

Let Me Be Loved: Introduction

Love is at the center of human existence.  We were created out of love, and we were created to be loved and to love in return.  You would think that something  so central to our nature and desires would come easily... but somehow love is one of the aspects of life that we hurt over, cry about and struggle with the most.
“I want to be in a relationship where you telling me you love me is just a ceremonious validation of what you already show me.” Steve Maraboli

I discovered the Five Love Languages several years ago, I'm sure through a Facebook link or post or something of the sort.  I've always loved psychology, knowing why people do what they do, how they think, how they respond and react to certain things, and so this was right up my ally. If you've never encountered this before, The Five Love Languages is the title of a series of books written by Gary Chapman centered around the theory that there are five ways that people give, and receive, love.

"To love and be loved is to feel the sun from both sides." David Viscott

It's fascinating, and I am a firm believer in it because it makes sense and, from my experience, it works.  No two people are exactly the same and just as there are different temperaments and personality types, of course there are going to be different ways that people best experience love. Each person speaks a certain "language", and while that doesn't mean that they don't feel love at all when it's given to them in a different language, it does mean that there are certain ways of expressing love that they connect with the most.  Once you learn the languages, you quickly start to recognize them in your loved ones - and once you begin to love them in their language, and they are able to love you in yours, amazing things can happen.

“What a grand thing, to be loved! What a grander thing still, to love!” Victor Hugo

I think everyone should figure out what their love language is and gather a basic enough knowledge of all five languages so they are able to start seeing them in the people around them, and speak the languages effectively.  That's why I've enlisted the aid of a few friends and family to help me write a blog series featuring each of the 5 Love Languages. I am very excited about it, and I hope the wonderful insights these ladies and gentlemen have shared will be as interesting and exciting to you, my lovely readers, as they were to me!

Read the whole series:
Let Me Be Loved: Introduction
Let Me Be Loved: Acts of Service
Let Me Be Loved: Words of Affirmation
Let Me Be Loved: Physical Touch
Let Me Be Loved: Gift Giving

1 comment:

  1. I've always wanted to figure out my love language but haven't ever done it. I really have no excuse since I don't actually have to do much to figure it out. :p

    Happy Galentine's day! ;) And Valentine's. And the Feast of Sts. Cyril and Methodius.

    The Starving Inspired


Welcome, and thank you for taking a few minutes to share your thoughts with me! I do love reading all and any comments. =] Please note that I do moderate, and any comments that do not meet with my standards and approval will be deleted. Thank you!